FCF Athlete Spotlight: Victor M.

Get to know Victor!

victor 4

-Are you from Seattle? If not, where are you originally from?
I moved here from Chicago in 2006. I was born in Whittier, CA. I grew up in Mesa, AZ, I went to college in Minnesota, and I have also lived in Oregon.

-What do you do for work?
Print! I work in an offset print shop, but I am currently in school for graphic design.

-What do you do for FUN?
Since I am in school I don’t have a lot of time for fun :) Going to the gym counts as fun. I like to go out to eat.

-When did you start CrossFit?
I started in December 2011.

-What keeps you coming to our gym?
Friendly, motivating people, and great trainers. Before I started crossfit, I didn’t work out because I was afraid of gym culture. As a trans person, it was important for me to find a place that felt comfortable and respectful of all kinds of bodies. I heard good things about FCF from a friend so I decided to try it. I loved it and have been here ever since.

victor 3

-What class time do you usually go to?
I used to be a solid 7:30pm-er but since I started school I just go whenever I can, which seems to either be 8am or 7:30pm.

-Do you have a favorite CrossFit exercise? Least favorite?
I really like Oly lifting and still rings. Of course I hate burpees.

-You’ve been kickin’ butt in the gym lately, what’s your most recent PR?
My most exciting recent PRs were a 60kg snatch and a 115kg back squat. I have also recently gotten better at double unders, so I have been PRing on anything with double unders, because I can actually string a few of them together now.

victor 2

-Favorite place to go out for dinner?
I recently moved to Columbia City but all of my favorite places are still on Capitol Hill. Lil Woodys’s, 8oz, Mezcaleria Oaxaca, Ba Bar (wings!)…

-If you could have any super power, what would it be?
The ability to teleport would make my day go a lot faster.

-Any fun facts about yourself that your gym-mates don’t know about you?
My writing/art has been published twice and I can be seen as an extra in a music video (but I’m not going to tell you what).

-What outside-the-gym activities you like to participate in? How has your performance changed with your increased fitness?
I can go on longer and more challenging hikes. I can bike up a hill without passing out. I can carry a backpack filled with breakfast, lunch, coffee, water, books, and gym clothes around for 14 hour days, 5 days a week, and not hurt my back.

victor 1